William Shatner’s TekWar is a 1995 first-person shooter video game derived from the TekWar series of novels created by William Shatner and ghost-written by science-fiction author Ron Goulart. It was designed using the Build engine.

The games narrative took place using cutscenes at the beginning and end of each level, featuring Shatner himself (in character as Walter Bascom) as the narrator. Cutscenes varied depending on the player’s performance during missions: if the player didn’t shoot any innocent NPCs, managed to take out the TekLord in the mission, and didn’t raise any tension (i.e. walking with his gun drawn), Shatner would deliver praise. On the other hand, shooting NPCs or aborting the mission caused him to threaten to have you put back into cryo-storage.

The premise details an ex-cop who is hired to be a hitman whose mission is to exterminate drug dealers who peddle “tek”. The two most distinguishable features are the hub-based level system (all the levels are interconnected by a subway station), and the fact that all of the non-player characters (NPCs) in the game (enemies, policemen, civilians) are shootable. When the player draws his gun, policemen shout: “Freeze! Drop your gun!” before they start shooting at the player. When a policeman or enemy is killed, their ammo can be picked up. When the player aims at a civilian, he/she ducks and screams: “Please, don’t shoot!” When any NPC is shot, a blood spot appears on the wall behind it. If an NPC is shot with one of the stronger weapons in the game, they will explode into gory bits.

Nguồn: https://taizalochat.net/

Xem thêm bài viết khác: https://taizalochat.net/category/game/

30 Comments

GraveyardTricks July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

You recommend that I don't play this if I'm looking for a 90s shooter? Fuck off. This is the next thing I'm going to play

Derrick Stegall July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

Well you can't spell shatner without shat.

Indian 2080s July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

An Indie Remake Of This Game Would Be Really Appreciated.

Dj Mortez July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

Great game! Had so much fun playing this when I was younger.

deathsyth8888 July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

Capstone: The Pinnacle of Entertainment Software.

Wdf1987 July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

I don't believe you beat this game at all, let alone in 2 hours. If you did, I find it unbelievable you wouldn't even mention the final level, The Matrix, and how broken that pile of shit is. I like your videos, but this time it seemed quite fake. Civvie 11 did this game much better

Grim’s Retro Reviews July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

JeZus Christ that screentear is terrible

Mark Christian July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

I was watching your review of Blood and randomly thought “gee, I wonder if there are any reviews of Tekwar for MS-DOS on here”. Lo and behold, another video from you — aces. It seems like you've got the same taste in vintage DOS games as I do. 😂 Thanks for making these videos; I appreciate you. ✨

mick taylor July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

it looks shatner was happy to be a part of cd technology

czolgistta July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

Shatner is soooooo reading his lines. You can see how his eyes are following the text on the prompter on his right side 😀

Ice Cold July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

I love how this review goes downhill… like in the first two minuters or so I thought you were actually gonna give this game a good opinion, but then it started slowly sliding downpath.

Nirmal Kirtisinghe July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

I played the shit out of this game in the 90s… I forgot its name, and found it again about 2 weeks ago… All this time I thought I was hallucinating about playing this game. Good to know it actually exists…

Russ’ Movie Corner July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

Tek is not like Johnny Mnemonic. It isn't "loaded into the user's brain." It manipulates brain waves to create those powerful fantasies.

H2O July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

Ahh I remember playing this when it was new.funny to say but good times

DPM July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

Want to learn how not to use Build Engine to create a game, learn from this game.

Teras_Kasi July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

Fuckin' RAW 😀

unfa July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

Civvie11 brought me here.

Christopher Blair July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

This game was really ambitious but Capstone had no chance of pulling off what they had envisioned.

Balter July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

How did you not mention the Matrix level in this horrible game?

Haris Jamil July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

It was nice game

Status1985Quo July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

The one thing I noticed about this bad game is how it has PIP (picture in picture) for the rear view mirror. I don't recall many games having that implemented prior to the early-mid 2000s.

JimboLogic July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

It looks like your character is three feet tall.

Bobman9420 July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

It would be interesting to see this game remade. I mean it needs it. But having a semi-open world and using the subway to go to your mission. It would be fun and have it expanded following the books.

Michael Conner July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

What fucked up game capstone ruined it's potential

AnimeWolfgamer July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

Talk about a ego but yet so well earned.

Kaden Overstreet July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

even if the dialogue sucks, Shatner has so much charisma that I couldn't care less, I mean it's Captain Kirk.

Lucas Pistek July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

I have #1 in the comic book series so I’m looking for a boxed copy of the game

Game Bag July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

What the fuck ? I never heard of this game before, the cutscenes look funny though lol.

Serious_Case July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

The idea behind the game is pretty interesting, albeit generic Cyberpunk stuff, with some expansion of certain elements besides action it'd might have been the spiritual ancestor of Deus Ex.
Unfortunately, the utterly horrible graphics ruin the game. Seriously, managing a team of creative jackasses is difficult, but the artistic direction went ape shit out of the window, I mean just open up the texture resource files with some editor (or check out ripped textures for download elsewhere) to punish your senses with a garbled mess with no refining, no color harmony, no theme organising, no nothing! And don't get me started on the sprites. Just look up ROTT to see with some proper and often minor pixel retouch digitised photographs can make really good graphics.
A wasted opportunity this game was.

Hugh Betcha July 5, 2020 at 11:05 pm

It should have been titled Drek War! Bloody awful

Leave a Comment